Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Using PDF reDirect
 EXP Systems Forum : PDF reDirect : Using PDF reDirect
Topic: A1 paper size Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
Cakewalker
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jun 07
Posts: 4
Quote Cakewalker Replybullet Topic: A1 paper size
    Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 6:26AM
I've probably missed something obvious, but for some reason I can't find A1 paper size on the paper size list. I'm looking for a new PDF printer to use in the architect's office I work in and it would be essential for us to be able to 'print' A1 PDFs from AutoCAD. Is it possible to edit the paper size list?

Thanks!
Chris
IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 20 Jun 07 at 8:18AM
Hi,

   No, you did not miss anything obvious... Smile

    The A1 paper size is included with the PDF reDirect printer. Yet, for some unknown reason, refuses to show appear in the list of paper sizes for some persons. After working on this problem with one user for nearly two months, we were unable to fix the problem, no matter what we did.

    As of today (nearly two years later), I can tell you that:

    1. There are no errors in the printer datafile, and
    2. The A1 paper size appears for most people.
    3. Once in a while (one every 3 to 6 months), I get an e-mail
        such as yours asking about the missing A1 paper size.

    Thankfully, there is a workaround which will allow you to regain the A1 paper size permanently. The trick is to use a feature of Windows which will allow you to manually add a customized paper size. Windows calls this a "form" for some reason, but don't let that throw you off. I have a forum post on how to do this [here].

    I hope this works for you, but, by all means let me know if you have any further questions.

Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
EXP Systems LLC
IP IP Logged
Cakewalker
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Jun 07
Posts: 4
Quote Cakewalker Replybullet Posted: 03 Jul 07 at 8:54AM
Sorry about the delayed reply. I've tried your suggestion and it has worked a treat :)
IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 04 Jul 07 at 12:55AM
Thanks for the update! Smile

Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
EXP Systems LLC
IP IP Logged
fabaum
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Sep 10
Posts: 2
Quote fabaum Replybullet Posted: 29 Sep 10 at 1:14PM
Hi,
I found the problem (or how to solve it):
 
On Windows:
  • Open the Printer Explorer
  • Click on the "File" menu
  • Select "Server Properties" in the menu list
  • Find and delete the A1 paper size
  • Create and save another A1 paper size (59,41cm x 83,96cm)
  • Done!

    The plot with AutoCAD is working again with the A1. Big%20smile
    IP IP Logged
    Michel_K17
    Moderator Group
    Moderator Group
    Avatar
    Forum Administrator

    Joined: 25 Jan 03
    Posts: 1638
    Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 29 Sep 10 at 10:53PM
    Hi Fabaum,

       Thanks for the tip.

       I have similar instructions on the forum [here], and in the latest version (v2.5) there is a new "Custom Paper Size" feature where you can do the same thing as what you described from within PDF reDirect. It's located in the Preferences >> Printer Properties >> Custom Paper Size.

       Cheers!
    Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
    EXP Systems LLC
    IP IP Logged
    cheops
    Newbie
    Newbie


    Joined: 13 Nov 10
    Location: United Kingdom
    Posts: 1
    Quote cheops Replybullet Posted: 13 Nov 10 at 5:35PM
    I signed up here to thank you, fabaum and Michel K17. I had a word document in 6 x 9 and went to print, printer properties, advanced, custom 6 x 9, but just got lonely looking text in the middle of an A4 page. However when I closed word and went to printers and set up for 6 x 9 from there it worked perfectly! Again thanks.

    Incidentally, it was a 347 page document with 4 or 5 b & w pictures, so well done pdf redirect.
    IP IP Logged
    Michel_K17
    Moderator Group
    Moderator Group
    Avatar
    Forum Administrator

    Joined: 25 Jan 03
    Posts: 1638
    Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 15 Nov 10 at 1:04AM
    Excellent! Thanks for the feedback. I am glad to hear that you got it working.

    You made a good point about MS Word. For the printout to work correctly, the paper size in both MS Word and in the printer must be the same.

    Cheers!

    Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
    EXP Systems LLC
    IP IP Logged
    Post Reply Post New Topic
    Printable version Printable version

    Forum Jump
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot create polls in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum