Active TopicsActive Topics  Display List of Forum MembersMemberlist  Search The ForumSearch  HelpHelp
  RegisterRegister  LoginLogin
Using PDF reDirect
 EXP Systems Forum : PDF reDirect : Using PDF reDirect
Topic: AutoCAD Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
keys
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Mar 06
Posts: 1
Quote keys Replybullet Topic: AutoCAD
    Posted: 20 Mar 06 at 7:01AM

I appear to have trouble with centering drawings when printing from AutoCAD 2002.

The preview and printable areas within AutoCAD are correct and match that of PDF Direct. Once it is in PDF Direct it appears off centre and I loose some of the drawing as a result.

I've tried checking paper sizes, printable areas... but to no avail. Great program otherwise.

Any ideas?

IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 20 Mar 06 at 11:47PM
Hi there,

   Unfortunately, I do not own AutoCAD, so my ability to troubleshoot will be somewhat limited. I would first check (although it sounds like you already did that) the printer settings in AutoCAD and those in the PDF reDirect Printer Properties to ensure that they match. What you are describing sound like AutoCAD is set to Landscape and the printer is set to Portrait.

   Also, in the Page Setup in AutoCAD, make sure that the "Center the Plot" option is checked.

   I am curious: does the output appear centered on the "Print Preview" screen?

   Best Regards,

Michel
IP IP Logged
dgray
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Jun 06
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Quote dgray Replybullet Posted: 14 Jun 06 at 9:53AM
I'm having similar problems with AutoCad 2000..

Has there been a solution found???
IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 15 Jun 06 at 1:54AM

Hi there,

   Actually, perhaps: I have been conversing by e-mail with someone who has had a similar problem with "acad". I've asked him to confirm if "acad" and "autocad" are the same thing, in which case, I will provide the results of his experiences, and how he got PDF reDirect working.

   Cheers!

Michel

IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 17 Jun 06 at 10:32AM
Hi,

   Click [here] to view a PDF with instructions on how to create PDF files from AutoCAD which may be useful to you. (My thanks go to Mike for giving permission to re-print his instructions).

   I'll point out one more thing: it is notoriously difficult to get the AutoCAD PDF files to appear with the proper orientation. I have added to PDF reDirect additional rotation commands which will allow you to force the PDF page to rotate to the angle of your choice. It has been tested by myself and one other user and it seems to be working well. It is currently available as a Beta v2.1.900. If you feel you need that version, you can upgrade by downloading the patch [here].

   Hopefully, this will help you in fixing the problem you are having.

   Best regards,

Michel

Edited by Michel_K17
IP IP Logged
ChiSinWolf
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Jan 07
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Quote ChiSinWolf Replybullet Posted: 22 Jan 07 at 1:04AM
I too have the same problem.
This must be something peculier to AutoCAD 2002. I had no problem when using AutoCAD 2005, but I just moved jobs and am now forced to use AutoCAD 2002.
The PDF instruction that was kindly offered for download in the previous post, is for AutoCAD 2005.
This is very frustrating for me because I have used your excellent free program so many times in the past.
I'm just hoping someone that reads this post may have some answer.
Guess I'll have to persuede my new employers to upgrade to the latest (very expensive) AutoCAD release.
IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 23 Jan 07 at 1:22AM
   Thanks for the post: at least we know that there is a difference between 2000/2002 and 2005. I wish I had a solution for you, but unfortunately, I have not heard of any.

    Yes, AutoCad is expensive, though I imagine less than CATIA.

    Cheers!

Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
EXP Systems LLC
IP IP Logged
ChiSinWolf
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Jan 07
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Quote ChiSinWolf Replybullet Posted: 23 Jan 07 at 5:53AM
I think I've cracked this problem!
 
In the PDF redirect V2 printer properties dialog box, I clicked the "Advanced" tab and unchecked the "Enable advanced printing features"
 
Seems to centralise the plots now.
 
Hooray!!!!
IP IP Logged
Michel_K17
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar
Forum Administrator

Joined: 25 Jan 03
Posts: 1638
Quote Michel_K17 Replybullet Posted: 23 Jan 07 at 11:30PM
    Wow... you just made my day. Good job! Also, I really appreciate that you posted the solution on the forum to share with everybody else.

    Thank you.


Michel Korwin-Szymanowski
EXP Systems LLC
IP IP Logged
ChiSinWolf
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Jan 07
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10
Quote ChiSinWolf Replybullet Posted: 24 Jan 07 at 3:06AM
Non-Technical people like me, rely solely on Trial and Error!  Smile
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum